Yashai Battle Rune There are 14 levels of training at the Blays-Halla Battle Academy. These levels are in turn representative of the 3 major elements that make up the Blays-Halla curriculum. The first and foremost element of Yashai Warcraft is the "Discipline of Steel", which centers around weapons and armor and their exact usage in combat. Integrated within the Discipline of Steel is the "Discipline of Flesh". This element consists of unarmed combatives. The empty-hand skills taught at Blays-Halla are directly related to the proper wielding of weapons, with the knife and sword being the primary tools of choice. The unarmed methods of combat that make up the Blays-Halla Discipline of Flesh were each systematically distilled from armed fighting styles, perfected by real warriors, on actual battlefields. Novice students are constantly reminded that men and women have died for the techniques that they are learning. Human blood has been shed to field-test each and every movement and concept that we practice. If it doesn't work, we don't teach it!

The third and final element of Yashai Warcraft is the "Discipline of Spirit". This particular element pervades each and every lesson taught at Blays-Halla. Without spirit, a technique is 'dead'. The goal of Yashai Warcraft is to help a student reach his or her maximum potential as a human being. This comes from building up one's spirit, not from how many kills one has accrued. Upper level students are taught the morality that must go hand in hand with the Power to kill. Both the wisdom, and the follies, of our elders are preserved. Therefore, philosophy and/or religion are sometimes aspects of class. This presents students with an accurate historical, ethnological, and psychological context for the things that they are learning. We at Blays-Halla realize that each individual has his or her own personal morality, philosophy, and/or religion. However, we aren't teaching our students the complete technique if this particular aspect isn't included. If every warrior who has ever taught us thought spirit was important, who are we to eliminate that key element?

The decision to incorporate any lesson ever taught at Blays-Halla into one's life is a personal one. Students, therefore, are never bound by the curriculum and can add to, or subtract from, any of the Yashai 'battle tricks' or teachings as they see fit.

Still with us? Good.

The following list comprises the 14 levels of training at the Blays-Halla Battle Academy :

  1. Single Sword / Battlestick
  2. Double Sword / Battlestick
  3. Sword / Battlestick and War Shank
  4. Sword / Battlestick and Shield
  5. Double War Shank
  6. Single War Shank
  7. Palm (nerve) Stick
  8. Empty-Hands
  9. Pole Arms (Blunt)
  10. Pole Arms (Edged)
  11. Flexible Weapons
  12. Projectile Weapons
  13. SOMA (Archaic / Modern Battlefield Tactics)
  14. Spiritual Warfare

The foundation of Yashai Warcraft is based upon a 6-banded spectrum of successful warrior traditions. These 6 traditions (in no specific order) are :

  1. The Filipino Warrior Arts -- emphasis is on the fighting methods of the Southern Philippines (Moro systems) and on those styles developed by Battlecircle ('pit') champions. We call this blend Patayin Estilo, the 'Death Match' system of sword and battlestick fighting.

  2. The Jun Fan Fighting Method / jeet kune do concepts -- the system of combat developed by Bruce Lee (Lee Jun Fan).

  3. Nagondzog -- the traditional Apache methods of hunting, survival, and guerrilla warfare.

  4. Silat / Pentjak Silat -- the warrior styles of the Tausugs (Sulu), Minangkabau (Sumatra), the Wali Suci (Java), the Bugis (Sulewesi), and the Melayu (Malaysia). We call this blend Silat Sabungin, the 'cockfighting' system of Filipino and Indonesian short-knife fighting.

  5. Hrafns Vegr-- "The Raven's Way": the fighting methods of the Dark Ages Vikings. Emphasis is on the styles of the Einherjar and the Ulfhednar. The dedication to the old Arts of War is still maintained at a few remote Scandian villages in the barrens and deep forests of the far Northlands.

  6. Capuan Boxing / Pammachon the Roman gladiatorial system of cestus fighting taught at Capua, one of Rome's most famous gladiator schools. Pammachon, an ancient Greek word which means "total fight", is the hard-core version of pankration. Yashai Pammachon allows boxing (using myrmex), kicking, wrestling throws & takedowns, strangleholds, joint destructions, and pressure locks.